North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA)

Under Chapter 16 of NAFTA, citizens of Canada, the United States and Mexico can gain quicker, easier temporary entry into the three countries to conduct business or investment activities.

​Business people covered by NAFTA do not need to labour market Impact Assessment (LMIA) from Human Resources and Skills Development Canada (HRSDC). This means that Canadian employers do not need to have a job offer approved by HRSDC to hire an American or a Mexican business person, as set out in NAFTA.

​Business people covered by NAFTA must, however, comply with the general provisions on temporary entry to Canada.

NAFTA applies to four specific categories of business people:

1. business visitors
2. professionals
3. intra-company transferees
traders and investors